Team

Our staff share the same values: a willingness to engage with clients, to establish relationship based on trust and a commitment to excellence. EGYP encourages intra-team dynamism and growth by giving individual members responsibility for their own projects and objectives.

Benjamin FontainePartner

Specialist fields : Trademark law, competition law, copyright law, trademark, design and model law, consolidation of rights, French and EU disputes, geographical indications, designations of origin

fontaine@egyp.com

Tél : +34 965 230 611

Benjamin Fontaine

QUALIFICATIONS

  • Law Degree, University of Orléans(1997)
  • Postgraduate degree in Intellectual Property, University of Alicante (1998)
  • Law course, University of Alicante (2004)
  • French Intellectual Property Attorney (Trademarks, Designs and Models)
  • European Trademark Attorney
  • Member of the French Patent and Trademark Attorneys Institute (CNCPI), the International Trademark Association (INTA) and the European Communities Trade Mark Association (ECTA)
  • Attorney, Alicante Bar

 

LANGUAGES

  • French
  • English
  • Spanish

Benjamin Fontaine joined the Paris office in 1999 and has been an Intellectual Property Attorney and a Spanish-qualified lawyer in our Alicante office since 2003. He has a broad range of experience in trademarks and related matters. He guides clients from the early consultation stages, to consolidation of rights and through disputes in France, Spain and EUIPO. He has many years of experience in EU proceedings and disputes and has particular expertise in cosmetics, alcoholic beverages, appellations of origin and domain name piracy. He regularly advises the firm’s international clients.

He is a frequent contributor to specialist legal journals, in particular the EU trade mark system. In 2010, he published a book entitled “Geographical indications and the Community trademark system”, which is available from EGYP in English and in French. For the past ten years, he has lectured to post-graduate students in both Bordeaux and Alicante and regularly attends international conferences.

He currently chairs ECTA’s  Geographical Indications Committee .

Benjamin oversees the running of the Alicante office’s trademark and disputes practice. He has been a Partner since June 2014.

Equipe

Tous nos collaborateurs partagent des valeurs communes : l’engagement auprès de nos clients, l’établissement de relations basées sur la confiance et le souci permanent d’un haut niveau de qualité. La volonté d’EGYP est de favoriser les échanges au sein des équipes tout en responsabilisant chacun dans ses missions et dossiers.

Benjamin FontaineAssocié

Domaines d'intervention : Droit des marques, droit de la concurrence, droit d’auteur, droit des dessins et modèles, consolidation des droits, contentieux en France et en Union Européenne, indications gérgraphiques, appellations d'origine

fontaine@egyp.com

Tél : +34 965 230 611

Benjamin Fontaine

FORMATION ET TITRES

  • Université d’Orléans, maîtrise de droit privé (1997)
  • Université d’Alicante, troisième cycle de propriété industrielle (1998)
  • Université d’Alicante, maîtrise de droit (2004)
  • Conseil en Propriété Industrielle (Marques, dessins et Modèles)
  • Conseil Européen en Marques
  • Membre de la CNCPI, de l’INTA et de l’ECTA
  • Avocat espagnol au Barreau d’Alicante

 

LANGUES

  • Français
  • Anglais
  • Espagnol

Benjamin Fontaine a rejoint le cabinet en 1999 et est Conseil en Propriété Industrielle et Avocat espagnol au sein de notre bureau de d’Alicante depuis 2003. Son activité est principalement consacrée aux droits des marques et aux questions connexes. Il intervient en phase de consultation, de consolidation des droits et surtout de contentieux tant en France qu’en Espagne et auprès de l’EUIPO. Il a acquis une solide expérience dans les procédures et le contentieux communautaires, ainsi que dans le domaine des cosmétiques, des boissons alcooliques, des appellations d’origine et du piratage de noms de domaine. Il assiste régulièrement la clientèle étrangère du Cabinet.

Benjamin Fontaine publie régulièrement des articles dans des revues spécialisées, concernant pour l’essentiel la marque communautaire. Il a publié en 2010 un ouvrage intitulé « Les indications géographiques et le système de la marque communautaire » disponible auprès du Cabinet. Il intervient depuis une dizaine d’années dans des troisièmes cycles à Bordeaux et à Alicante, ainsi que dans le cadre de congrès internationaux.

Il préside actuellement le Comité des Indications Géographiques de l’ECTA.

Benjamin coordonne l’activité Marques et Contentieux du bureau espagnol, il est associé depuis 2014.